Mindy Smith

Artist Photo


Vanguard Records is proud to announce the release of The Essential Mindy Smith– a thirteen track collection featuring songs from the highly acclaimed singer-songwriter’s three Vanguard Records studio albums: One Moment More, Long Island Shores and Stupid Love.  This compilation also includes Mindy’s cover of Fleetwood Mac’s “Little Lies,” previously available only as an iTunes bonus track. The Essential Mindy Smith will be released October 9th via CD, LP, and Digital formats and documents a distinct era in the career of a remarkable artist. Full track listing below.

The world first discovered Mindy Smith in 2003 when she was featured as the only new artist (amongst such luminaries as Emmylou Harris and Melissa Ethridge) on the Dolly Parton tribute album Just Because I’m a Woman with her impeccable version of ‘Jolene’.  (Parton later sang with Smith on The Tonight Show and appeared in a music video for the song.)

In 2004, Smith released her auspicious debut One Moment More.  With such provocative and compelling songs such as “Come to Jesus” and the title track, an avalanche of critical raves quickly followed.  The New Yorker quipped “In the great post-Norah Jones sweepstakes, the smart money is on Smith,” while USA Today hailed Smith’s debut as “one of the most buzzed-about albums of the new year.”  As such, Smith established herself as a leader among her generation of musicians.

In 2006, Smith released her second album, Long Island Shores – paying homage to the town where she was raised – featuring the songs “Out Loud,” and “Please Stay.”  Smith again earned praise far and wide, with the New York Times hailing, “Her voice carves melodies so sharp and fine you can almost see them.”  The Associated Press likewise dubbed Long Island Shores “intoxicating.”

Stupid Love, which followed in 2009, found Mindy exploring pop songcraft and featured the gems “Please Stay,” “Highs and Lows,” and the Fleetwood Mac cover “Little Lies” as an iTunes bonus track. Stupid Love became Smith’s highest-charting album to date, reaching Number One on Billboard’s Heatseekers chart.

Mindy Smith is currently on tour in support of her new self-titled fifth studio album and first independent recording on Giant Leap/TVX Records.

The Essential Mindy Smith track listing:

1. Come to Jesus

2. Out Loud

3. It’s Amazing

4. Highs and Lows

5. Please Stay

6. Jolene

7. Hard To Know

8. Tennessee

9. Love Lost

10. Little Lies

11. Fighting For It All

12. Peace of Mind

13. One Moment More



Come To Jesus

Come To Jesus


Out Loud

Out Loud



View All